Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content








 Callaway Hernandez  Thompson Braden Plentzas Bruner







Stark  Banks Branham Brooks Butler Hurt

Aug. 17, 2012—The Air Force has selected its top enlisted members, naming its 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2012.

These airmen have demonstrated superior leadership, job performance, community involvement, and personal achievements.

They are:

• SMSgt. Laura A. Callaway, Air Mobility Command;
• SMSgt. Emilio Hernandez, US Air Forces in Europe;
• SMSgt. Luke W. Thompson, Air National Guard;
• MSgt. Alan M. Braden, Air Force Materiel Command;
• MSgt. Sandra L. Plentzas, Air Force Reserve Command;
• TSgt. Brandon C. Bruner, Air Force Special Operations Command;
• TSgt. Matthew G. Stark, Pacific Air Forces;
• SSgt. Angelo C. Banks, Air Education and Training Command;
• SSgt. Cory T. Branham, Air Combat Command;
• SrA. Bryenna L. Brooks, Air Force Global Strike Command;
• SrA. Matthew J. Butler, Air Force District of Washington; and
• SrA. Nicholas A. Hurt, Air Force Space Command.

The Air Force Association will honor these 12 airmen during AFA's Air & Space Conference in September in National Harbor, Md.

"This time of the year is always an honor to us at AFA as we get to distinguish a dozen of our airmen who are among the best and brightest in their respective organizations," said Sandy Schlitt, AFA Chairman of the Board, in a release.

"Their dedication to duty is quite admirable and we commend them for their service," he added.

(See also Aug. 10 Randolph report by Gloria Kwizera)