Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Stewart, Collins, White Enter Hall of Fame: The National Aviation Hall of Fame on July 18 enshrined three USAF airmen among the four names selected for its class of 2009. The USAF inductees are: the late Brig. Gen. Jimmy Stewart, World War II bomber pilot and one of the early officers of the Air Force Association, as well as Academy Award winning actor; ret. Col. Eileen Collins, USAF test pilot and the first woman to command a space shuttle; and the late Lt. Col. Edward White III, who died in the 1967 Apollo I fire on the launch pad at Kennedy Space Center, Fla. NAHF also inducted Russell Meyer Jr., former chairman and CEO of Cessna Aircraft Company. (NAHF release)